Find out how to get access to govdex
Permissions within govdex communities are assigned and applied through groups. For example, to give people administration rights within a community, add them into the Admin group. Information on how to manage group memberships can be found in Managing Memberships.
Groups are given access to view, edit or delete content by community administrators.
You can also use these groups to set up restricted sections of your community which are only visible to people in certain groups.
As an administrator you are able to give different groups the ability to view and modify different pieces of content.
In the Control Panel (Browse-> Space Admin) select Permissions to view and change the default rights that a group has within that community.
These permissions apply to all pages, comments and documents in your community. However, these rights can be overwritten by page specific restrictions.
There are 3 main sections which can be changed:
Within these three sections the main elements that are used are:
- Create – This option includes the ability to both create and edit
- Restrict – Grants the ability to add page level restrictions
- Remove – Allows users to delete content
A default setup for a normal user group grants them the right to create and edit pages, comments and attachments. It does not grant the permissions to remove content. The remove permission is generally limited to the administration group.
A group must have the view permission to be able to see the community. If you wish to remove a group from your community you can just remove its view permission and no-one in that group will be able to see your community any more.
Page Specific Restrictions
In addition to the Community Rights, you are also able to specify which groups are able to view or edit specific pages. The restrictions that your community has in place can be viewed under the Restricted Pages section of your communities Control Panel. You can remove existing page level restrictions here by clicking on the lock icon.
Page Viewing Restrictions
When applied to a particular page, viewing restrictions dictate who is able to see (or access) that page and any pages underneath it.
- Group_Alpha, Group_Bravo and Group_Charlie have view access to a community.
- A page is created and Group_Alpha and Group_Bravo are given viewing rights to the page.
- People who are only members of Group_Charlie will be unable to access this page.
- People who are members of either Group_Alpha or Group_Bravo will be able to access this page.
- Someone who is a member of Group_Charlie and either Group_Bravo or Group_Alpha will be able to access the page
Page Editing Restrictions
If you’d like people to be able to read a page, and download files from it, but without the ability to edit, Editing Restrictions are what you are after.
They work in much the same way as viewing restrictions, but apply only to one page. Editing restrictions do not apply to any pages under the restricted page. This means that if you have multiple pages that you would like to be restricted you will need to apply the restriction to each one individually.
Applying Viewing or Editing Restrictions
- Open the page you’d like to restrict
- Click Edit -> Edit this Page
- Underneath the page content box, click Edit next to the Restrictions label (this may already be expanded)
- Select either Viewing or Editing
- Enter or search for the name of the group you’d like to create the restriction for
- Click Add
- Repeat from step 4 until you have added all required restrictions or groups
If you require any further information please see our FAQ section.